Reviews

7.8
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
7.9
Property location
7.8
Facilities
7.7
Staff
8.5
Value
6.9

Reviews

    ch

    Review score

    6.7
    20 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Zoe
    au

    Review score

    7.1
    28 February 2018

    It could be amazing...

    I've struggled with how to review this property! I fully understand that Myanmar is a burgeoning market and there is a lot for many of the hotels to learn. This hotel still has a way to go, especially considering the expense to stay there. During the day they would water the gardens outside the rooms, but the hoses had holes in them so the paths flooded making a very wet and slippery journey between the rooms and the pool/restaurant areas. The wifi was dreadful, never reaching the rooms and was intermittent during the day. The food was pretty good..but both times we ordered it was an hour wait. I would rather they told us it would take this long so we could decide if we wanted to change location. The rooms were very spacious but there were no bedside lamps and only one bedside table. The bathroom was very basic. Although stated on the information page, it was frustrating that we could pay the room charges by credit card but we had to pay for the food by cash, necessitating an ATM withdrawal right at the end of our trip.
    The location of this hotel is superb. It is right at the end of the "hotel strip" so is very quiet. It was right next to a fishing village so good if you fancy a wander and a change of scenery. There were always empty sun longers on the beach under umbrellas. Please go to the restaurant that you can see from the beach (called PVI), out on the water! Food and service there was amazing!
    Alexander
    my

    Review score

    8.8
    18 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Pam
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    14 February 2018

    A lovely hotel with very good service that could have been excellent

    No tea or ordinary coffee in room - coffee was sachets of pre sweetened coffee with powdered milk - yuk! Sounds a little pathetic but it was the only hotel we stayed in Myanmar that didn’t turn down bed and place mosquito nets - just little touches that make difference between good and great service. Likewise no spare toilet roll either so ran out one day.
    Idyllic situation on beachfront just a few steps from beach and comfortable loungers with umbrellas. Opposite small islet which is perfect for sunset drinks. Lovely pool and very friendly and helpful staff . We’re even invited to staff party for a drink one evening which the manager organised twice annually for all staff. Manager was exceptionally friendly and helpful so not sure where reviews saying otherwise came about. Grounds of hotel beautifully looked after and lots of pretty plants and flowers around. Staff kept grounds immaculate and swept, pruned etc every day. Hotel even provide a lamp which was perfect for walking from restaurants along the beach at night. Very close to great restaurants too
    Rachel
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    6 February 2018

    Good choice for more authentic place to stay at this beach

    When we arrived there was a group of 150! that essentially took over the entire place. consequently the first evening was noisy and chaotic. I believe that the hotel should have been closed for other guests during this time. Little noisy from village life next door which is the trade off for being in this location. 45 min walk to the beach restaurants but taxi/bikes easily available.
    For us the location was great next to the village so had a feeling on authenticity. More rustic than all other hotels in the area Staff were fantastic, always smiling and on hand to assist Great pool and lots of space on loungers both at the pool and on the beach. Beach immaculately cleaned every night. Food was pretty good Breakfast was vast and plentiful
    Dianne
    au

    Review score

    7.9
    30 January 2018
    The restaurant dinner was not very good, however, the buffet breakfast was quite good.
    We did not like the Garden View rooms we booked as they were surrounded by wet vegetation, mosquitos and they smelt. We asked to see the beachside bungalows which were beautiful so we upgraded to these bungalows. I would recommend these to all future travellers.
    mm

    Review score

    5.0
    26 January 2018

    Won’t go again

    Service, facilities
    Pawel
    pl

    Review score

    10
    25 January 2018

    Everything OK

    OK !!
    First time visitor to Ngapali
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    23 January 2018

    Lovely beachside hotel south on the main Ngapali Beach

    The breakfast needs some work but I think this might improve in time. The restaurant we didn't eat at, but the hotel didn't seem to have quite as good a set up as some of the others up the beach in this respect. Having said that, you can always go to other places to eat and drink and this hotel is good value for money as a beachfront property.
    This hotel is the furthest hotel south on the beach which does mean a little walk up to the beachside shack restaurants or other hotel restaurants but this made no difference as a walk up the beach each day is quite nice! There is also the islet hotel right out of the front which is out slightly into the sea that does great cocktails, so although relatively far south I don't think this is a problem. The rooms are big and comfortable and clean, and the staff are really helpful - or at least try to be - although don't expect much English! Google translate is a useful tool. The hotel was really accommodating when we wanted to stay a few extra days. There were always sunbeds and the beach is amazing! You can rent bikes and electric bikes from the hotel too to further explore the area.
    Andrew
    gb

    Review score

    6.7
    22 January 2018

    OK

    The bathroom; shower-head fixing broken; nowhere to put soap; no curtain, water everywhere; no hot water at sink, so had to use kettle. Breakfast buffet warmers not lit, food uncovered, so all hot food was cold. Whilst all staff were very helpful, spoken English was poor. Given high room-rate, poor value for money.
    Quiet location right on the beach, adjacent to fishing village, swimming pool; bedroom was a good size; comfy beds, mosquito nets.
    cn

    Review score

    10
    20 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Karl
    ch

    Review score

    4.6
    16 January 2018

    Shabby, poor food, noisy, far too expensive; Very disappoin

    Shabby, poor food, noisy, poor insect control, far too expensive for what it offered; Very disappointing
    Shabby, poor food, noisy, poor insect control, far too expensive for what it offered; Very disappointing
    Anneli
    se

    Review score

    8.3
    14 January 2018
    The standard rooms a bit shabby. Hard to communicate in English with some of the staff members.
    Perfect location and nice and comfortable public facilities (lobby, restaurant and pool area). Helpful staff. Nice beach chairs on the beautiful beach.
    luisa
    it

    Review score

    5.0
    10 January 2018
    it is located between the fisherman village and a little river so the beach in front of the hotel and water were full of plastic and dirty , the pool in the middle of the dining area was quite dirty. I would have spent less money for this.
    the view
    mm

    Review score

    2.5
    3 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Carla
    pt

    Review score

    10
    14 December 2017
    Weak Wi-Fi signal. Hotel dosnt has bicycles, kayaks or Padel to rent.
    Breakfast was exceĺlent. Staff very helpful. Has a little library.
    Michael
    nl

    Review score

    10
    11 December 2017

    Paradise !

    The staff were really friendly and took care of everything e.g. airport pick-up. The breakfast buffet was great with lovely views out towards the beach. The location is fantastic; next to the local fishing village, it was fascinating to see their daily routine. The hotel was also within walking (or taxi) distance of plenty of restaurants. Overall we had such a relaxing time at Diamond Hotel Ngapali - it really was one of the highlights of our whistlestop trip around Myanmar.
    no

    Review score

    7.9
    4 December 2017

    Great location and good service.

    The indoor climate in my room was really bad. It smelt bad and the air felt really tight. I don't know what caused it, if it was chemicals from cleaning or if it was moist damage or something else. I told the staff, but due to language issues they didn't say what it was, and they just sprayed the room with something, which didn't help. I think the rooms are never aired out to let fresh air in. It was only two windows to open, one in the bedroom and one in the bathroom, and there is no mosquito net in the windows. I desperately needed fresh air in the room, so I let the windows stay open all day and night, despite all the mosquitos coming in, but even after 4 days, the room still smelled very strong when you entered it.
    Great location. Quiet area and next to the Fisherman's village where you can see the local fisherman come back with their catch. Great service from the staff, even though their english was not the best, so it was some challenges with the language at times. Good breakfast with both Western and Asian food alternatives. Nice restaurants nearby in the main street.
    Natalie
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    3 December 2017

    Nice location and good pool area.

    We booked a garden view room but it was more of a pond view and there were lots of mosquitos due to the pond so we couldn't sit outside. Staff also insisted on taking our bags even when we said that we wanted to take them. Considering the staff were generally very small ladies and we are a large couple we didn't feel comfortable with this.
    Lovely pool area.
    Katy
    mm

    Review score

    9.6
    14 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews